American Ninja Warrior Training

I LOVE the show American Ninja Warrior because the first time I saw it, I really thought these people were superhuman.  I legit thought what they did was insanely impossible and as cool as it looked, it would never be me.

But then I started rock climbing and developed my upper body strength further and the impossible seemed less so.  So I finally tried my first ninja gym a few months ago, and to my surprise, it wasn’t AS impossible as I thought it would be! Don’t get me wrong, it is still damn hard, but I thought if I practiced I could be okay at it, vs before I thought no amount of training would I ever be able to such a thing!

Plus it’s so much fun! Bob says “we are training to be better at playing!” So true.

One of the things that was hardest for me to learn was the salmon ladder.  The kipping motion plus explosive upper body movement was just really hard for me to grasp physically.   At the same time there was a huge mental fear of committing because you are afraid the bar is going to hit you in the face- which it did at one point.

I was so happy when I got the salmon ladder motion!!  See video below.  Now I just gotta do a WIDER gap between vs the smaller gaps I was practicing at the gym.  But weirdly enough, it was sorta like riding a bike in the sense that once you got it, the motion made a lot of sense.  Lots of technique involved.

 

The wind chimes was also a lot of fun.  Took a few tries to get the technique of the foot work and really hugging with your biceps.  Sometimes it’s just trying to figure out which part of your body you should be focusing on to get it- just like rock climbing!

 

I am still so far along to feel like I can legit run a course without any splashes.  I tend to rush through them in class because someone is always behind me and then I fall.   Also, I am SO SLOW at all these obstacles- people in the class flies through them but I am like a turtle doing these courses.    Still learning!

Leave a Reply

