Coconut Flour Pancakes

This came out not as great as I’d hope, but I think it’s because I made them too big and thick. I should try to make them small, like silver dollar pancakes.

The coconut flour makes it almost cakey, and not fluffy like you would want.  But I am told if I use sparkling water it will be fluffier.   Also the 1/2 cup flour with the 6 eggs made it so that it was more watery than batter-like, so I added a little more flour afterwards.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 3 tbsp Xylitol
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup water
  • Additional butter or oil for the pan

In a large bowl, whisk together coconut flour, sweetener, baking powder, and salt. Add eggs, butter, and vanilla and stir to combine. Add water and whisk until smooth. Let batter rest a few minutes to thicken.  Pour into pan, cook until both sides are brown.

I added dark chocolate chips to one of the pancakes to make it more edible for my boyfriend. He put maple syrup on it and said it was good.  I think it’s just the dark chocolate chips and syrup that made it good.  HA!

img_4251

 

Leave a Reply

